Biological Diversity


Biologists formerly classified living organisms among five kingdoms.  This has been supplanted in modern taxonomic work by a division into three domains.  A variety of new tools and procedures is producing a great deal of new data relating to classification; not all of it points in the same direction. 

Note: like any group of organisms, this site is evolving - - and evolution takes time!

Domains Bacteria and Archaea

Domain Eukarya, Protista

Domain Eukarya, Kingdom Fungi

Domain Eukarya, Kingdom Plantae

Domain Eukarya, Kingdom Animalia

OSU Lima Biology

Last modified on 09/08/2010.

If you have difficulty accessing any portions of this website due to incompatibility with adaptive technology, or you have suggestions on how we can make this site more accessible, or you need the information in an alternative format, please contact us at:
The Ohio State University at Lima, 4240 Campus Drive, Lima, Ohio, 45804 Phone:  419.995.8329