OSU Columbus  |  Buckeye Link  |  Carmen  |  Library  |  Map  |  Webmail  |  Find People  
Media Release Archives
For immediate release

April 7, 2011

Contact:† Pam Joseph at (419) 995-8284 or Lesley King Fry at (419) 995-8671

Ohio State Lima seeks Town and Gown Award nominations

The Ohio State University at Lima is now accepting nominations for the Violet I. Meek Town and Gown Award, which goes annually to a person who exemplifies a significant and sustaining example of Disciplina in Civitatem, education for citizenship, the motto of The Ohio State University.

The award honors Dr. Violet I. Meek, who retired as Dean and Director of Ohio State Lima in July 2003. The honoree receives an individual award, and a plaque citing all honorees is maintained in the office of the Ohio State Lima Dean and Director.† Recipients to date are:

†††††††††††††††††††††††††††† †† Dr. David S. Adams††††† † ††††††† †2003

†††††††††††††††††††††††††††† †† Mr. Thomas Francis††††† † ††††††† †2004

†††††††††††††††††††††††††††† †† Mr. Clyde Rauch†††††††††† † ††††††† †2005

†††††††††††††††††††††††††††† †† Dr. William Ackerman†† † ††††††† †2006

†††††††††††††††††††††††††††† †† Mr. Robert M. Schulte † ††††††††† †2007

†††††††††††††††††††††††††††† †† Mrs. Jaye E. McCain†††† † ††††††† †2008

†††††††††††††††††††††††††††† †† Dr. Jon Rockhold††††††††† †† †††††† ††††††††† 2009

†††††††††††††††††††††††††††† †† Mr. Ora (Bud) Winzenried††††† 2010


Nominations may be made by anyone. Completed nominations must include a letter of nomination and may include resumes and letters of support to enhance the nomination. Consideration will be given to at least the following criteria:

Advocacy for Ohio State Lima

Leadership positions in the community

Service to the University if a community nominee or

service to the community if a University nominee

The model recipient is one who consistently advocates for Ohio State Lima through University and community leadership. Ideally, the recipient exemplifies how a University educated person uses acquired skills to promote community development.† Recipients do not need to be alumni of The Ohio State University.

For information, contact the Ohio State Lima Office of the Dean and Director at (419) 995-8481. Completed nominations and letters of support must be received by the Deanís Office, 4240 Campus Drive, Lima, OH† 45804, by April 22, 2011. All nominations will be kept on file and considered active nominees for the initial and two subsequent selection processes.††