OSU Columbus  |  Buckeye Link  |  Carmen  |  Library  |  Map  |  Webmail  |  Find People  
Media Release Archives
For Immediate Release

May 3, 2013

Contact: Lesley Fry (419) 995-8671 or Pam Joseph (419) 995-8284

Ohio State Lima announces WBL Scholastic Bowl Tournament results

More than 100 high school students competed

Wapakoneta High School swept all nine of its varsity matches to win the Western Buckeye League Scholastic Bowl Tournament held today at The Ohio State University at Lima. The junior varsity team from Shawnee High School claimed victories in eight out of nine matches to win the JV division.

The Wapakoneta High School team included Colin Jarvis, George Jose, Austin Klingler and Ross Kohler. Their coach is Adam Friemering.

The varsity runner-up team was from St. Marys Memorial High School. St. Marys varsity members include Kevin Dammeyer, Maxwell Powell, T.J. Wirth and Nikai Varuska. Their coach is Chad Doll.

The winning junior varsity team from Shawnee High School included Ruthvik Avvari, Jasmine Binod, Ethan Kimmett, Cayla Ong, Alexis Wei and Avery Zhou. Their coach is Janice Drerup.

The junior varsity runner-up team was from Bath High School and included team members Chris Ellington, Maddie Helmig, Kyle Spragg and Matt Sterling. Their coach is Dan Grime.

The WBL Scholastic Bowl All Tournament Team was chosen by the coaches and made up of one member from each school. The 2013 All Tournament Team members are Wes Patton from Bath, Chase Owens from Celina, Thomas Koester from Defiance, Steven Britt from Elida, Ben Pistora from Kenton, Ben Deitering from Ottawa-Glandorf, Anneliese Paik from Shawnee, T.J. Wirth from St. Marys, Haley Sperry from Van Wert and George Jose from Wapakoneta.

High school teams from around western Ohio went head-to-head in the round-robin scholastic bowl tournament. Varsity and junior varsity teams from Bath (Dan Grime), Celina (Hal Hoover), Defiance (James Kerr), Elida (Shelby Cluts), Kenton (Robin Hughes), Shawnee (Janice Drerup), St. Marys (Chad Doll), Van Wert (Anita Zuber) and Wapakoneta (Adam Friemering) competed. Coaches' names are in parenthesis.

The 2013 competition is the tenth year for the tournament, which is hosted and sponsored by The Ohio State University at Lima.

# # #