OSU Columbus  |  Buckeye Link  |  Carmen  |  Library  |  Map  |  Webmail  |  Find People  
Media Release Archives
For Immediate Release

March 20, 2009

Contact: Pam Joseph (419) 995-8284 or Lesley King Fry (419) 995-8671

Ohio State Lima announces WBL Scholastic Bowl Tournament results

138 high school students competed

Defiance High School swept its nine varsity matches to win the Western Buckeye League Scholastic Bowl Tournament held Friday, March 13, 2009, at The Ohio State University at Lima. The junior varsity team from Shawnee High School did the same to earn the JV title.

The Defiance Varsity team included Michael Schlatter, Clay Pixler, Mark Fackler and Anthony Pardo. Coaches are Rae Gambler, B.J. Gambler and Angela Gambler. Shawnee’s JV team included Eli Bodey, Jessica Jelinger, Amanda Lawson, Emma Nimps, Dalton Smith and Dustin Waldron. Their coach is Deb File.

The Varsity runner up team was from Shawnee High School. Shawnee Varsity members include Aaron Anderson, Taylor Haycock, Jon Jones, Alek Lucke, Ronald Magee, Monica Paik, Clayton Smith and Brandon Sweeney. Their coach is also Deb File.

The Junior Varsity Runner-Up Team was from St. Marys Memorial High School and included team members Pat Larkin, Joseph Brenneman, Daniel Miller, Michael Broski, Tom Scott, Cody Goble, Ryan Wendel, Charleston Powell, Lena Tenney, Anthony Tenney and Grant Davis. St. Marys’ coaches are Chad Doll, Sara Homan and Robert Howard.

The WBL Scholastic Bowl All Tournament Team was chosen by the coaches and made up of one member from each school. The 2009 All Tournament Team members are Lucas Erickson from Bath, Travis McCoy from Celina, Michael Schlatter from Defiance, Chris Radebaugh from Elida, Brady Hood from Kenton, Steve Dickman from Ottawa-Glandorf, Taylor Haycock from Shawnee, Mitch Powell from St. Marys, Kelsey Perkins from Van Wert, and Kenneth Long from Wapakoneta.

High school teams from around western Ohio went head-to-head in the round-robin scholastic bowl tournament. Varsity and junior varsity teams from Bath (Dan Grime), Celina (Hal Hoover), Defiance (Rae Gambler, BJ Gambler and Angela Gambler), Elida (Shelby Cluts), Kenton (Robin Hughes and Rebecca Wolfe), Ottawa-Glandorf (Janie Font), Shawnee (Deb File), St. Marys (Chad Doll, Sara Homan and Robert Howard), Van Wert (Cindy Thomas) and Wapakoneta (Adam Friemering) competed. Coaches’ names are in parenthesis.

The 2009 competition is the sixth year for the tournament, which is hosted by The Ohio State University at Lima and sponsored in part by the Mercer Savings Bank.

# # #

Photo credits: Varsity Winner – Defiance: Coaches Rae Gambler (left) and B.J. Gambler (right) and team members Michael Schlatter, Clay Pixler, Mark Fackler, and Anthony Pardo

JV Winner – Shawnee: (left to right) Jessica Jelinger, Amanda Lawson, Dalton Smith, Eli Bodey, Emma Nimps, and Dustin Waldron.